Mixtape 14 – May, 2015

With just a few precious days to spare, I have completed this months Mixtape. I think it’s a good one that does an excellent job of capturing the heart of The Alternafolk, Surfsoul, Rock & Roll Revival Meeting. Enjoy the mix (in order, not shuffled), and scroll down for a brief comment on each song.

1. “Call Me – I’ll Be Around Medley” by Bran Van 3000 – I’ve been intrigued by this curious, sever years old Spinners cover (ish) for a few months now. I only knew Bran Van for their 90’s song “Drinking In LA”. But this track has a kind of reassuring, calming aesthetic that keeps me hanging around for the entire six and a half minutes, whether I feel like it or not. It’s much more than just a cover, with some original lyrics, a rap verse, and voices of children set atop the splashing of some gentle wakes. Me likey.

2.  “Blood on Your Bootheels” by Caroline Rose – This is a tasty little slice of Americana from Rose’s debut last year. There is plenty to like on I Will Not Be Afraid. Go check out her album now!

3. “Feeling OK” by Best Coast – Another great track from California Nights, Best Coast’s new album. This one is my wife’s favorite. She has excellent taste. Read more about the album here.

4. “Sugaree” by The Sonics – The new album from 60’s garage act The Sonics just keeps on giving. Turn this one up LOUD.

5. “Let’s Be Friends (Skin to Skin)” by Bruce Springsteen – This is probably the least talked about song from Springsteen’s 2002 album The Rising. But I love this sexy and soulful summer jam about overcoming obstacles to come together. I especially love the muted-sounding sax solo during the bridge and fade.

6. “Goodbye (feat. Lyse)” by Feder – I don’t know anything about Feder or Lyse. But I know this song fascinating. From the moment Lyse begins to tell her story “about that guy”with her tired French accent, I am hooked.

7. “Tonight The Streets Are Ours” by Richard Hawley – This is the kind of song that, as it’s being created, God must be hearing and thinking “Oh – Matt is going to love this”. From Hawley’s ’07 album Lady’s Bridge.

8. “Gurdjieff’s Daughter” by Laura Marling – This is my no-other-song-is-close favorite from Marling’s latest album. Her phrasing   when she sings “It may not surprise you, but pride has been known to rise up a storm. Countless lives lost at the hands of pride and I’ll fall” hooks me right in the throat, it is so good. Seriously. stop and listen right now.

9. “Only Love” by Mumford and Sons” – My current favorite from the new Mumford album. Three minutes of quiet ballad, jolted into 90 seconds of blistering rock & roll, all doled out with lamenting melancholy. Yes, please.

10. “Thunder Thumbs and Lightnin’ Licks” by The Brothers Johnson – Rest in peace, Louis “Thunder Thumbs” Johnson.

11. “Things Happen” by Dawes – Great new single about growth, moving on, and how sometime we need to let go of certain people.

12. “Untitled” by Social Distortion – Kind of a lost track from Social D’s under appreciated White Light, White Heat, White Trash record. One of my favorite Mike Ness songs.

13. “All the Other Girls” by Avid Dancer – I was mostly meh about the Avid Dancer album, but the groove on this one stood out to me. And, it sounds better with each listen. Maybe I should go check out the album one more time.

14. “Believe (Nobody Knows) by My Morning Jacket – I keep meaning to listen to the new MMJ record, but so far haven’t gotten past this lead track, which is delightful.

15. “Believe” by Dwight Yoakam – I enjoy pairing song that are completely different yet share the same song title. Yoakam’s new album, Second Hand Heart, is further evidence that this guy keeps getting better and better. This is one of my faves.

16. “Saturday Night” by Brian Wilson – When Brian Wilson wakes up and stretches in the morning, I’m guessing his bones create the most beautiful creaking melody you have ever heard. Nate Ruess adds his vocals on this one, another perfectly crafted pop song from the most talented Beach Boy’s new album.

17. “Yeh Yeh” by Georgie Fame – I remember first loving this song via that Matt Bianco version when I was in high school. Originally an instrumental, Georgie Fame and The Blue Flames were the first to score a hit with lyric-enhanced version of the song, back in 1965.

18. “Embers” by The Orange Peels – Lead track from Begin the Begone, the brand new album by this San Francisco Bay Area band. The whole album is wonderful, and I will likely write about it soon. Allen Clapp’s pop music is warm and comforting, like a blanket out of the dryer. Ahhhh…

19. “Lisa Sawyer” by Leon Bridges – I could listen to this kind of soul music all day long. Great new album by this exciting young artist.

20. “Stand By Me” by Ben E. King – We also said goodbye to Ben E. King earlier this month. I knew this song well growing up. But the renaissance the song received because of its inclusion in the movie of the same name gave it new relevance for me in high school.

~ by themattmorrisshow on May 29, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
