Musical Advent Calendar 2013 – December 18

We are one week away from Christmas day and I need to rock!

Before we get to today’s official song, we need some brief back story and video.  Back in December of 2000, Saturday Night Live featured a brief musical skit featuring Horatio Sanz, Jimmy Fallon, Chris Kattan, and Tracy Morgan.  It was simple, ridiculous, a little sweet, and completely hysterical.  Let’s watch!

Now fast forward nine years.  Strokes frontman Julian Casablancas releases a Christmas single he calls “Christmas Treat”.  I was instantly drawn to the rock and roll joy of the track, and even the somewhat goofy but innocuous lyrics.  It was part of the fun.  But there was something familiar about this song that I couldn’t immediately put my finger on.  I probably listened to the track about a dozen times before it finally hit me – this was the Saturday Night Live song!  Being treated like a real song!  And it’s great!

And so, a new Christmas favorite is born.  And as we move to just one week away from Christmas day, kids everywhere are feeling the excitement build within them (especially since they are just a couple of days away from their school breaks – my condolences to all teachers between now and Friday afternoon).  And I’m sure many of them are indeed wishing that  it was Christmas today.  In the good ol’ U.S. of A.

So now, for today’s musical advent calendar, I give you Julian Casablancas and the song he calls “Christmas Treat”.  But I will forever know the song as “I Wish It Was Christmas Today”.  Enjoy!

~ by themattmorrisshow on December 18, 2013.

 
