Musical Advent Calendar 2013 – December 11

I just this year came across A Very Rosie Christmas, from folky singer-songwriter Rosie Thomas.  I don’t know how I missed this release from five years ago, since I really like Rosie Thomas.  If you don’t know Rosie, go check out her stuff (if you can find 2007’s These Friends of Mine, that is my favorite).

Delivering an entire album of holiday themed material is often a difficult task.  Most of the time, when an artist releases a holiday album, we’re lucky if there are two or three tracks on it that we actually connect to and want to hear again.  Rare is the Christmas album that delivers consistently all the way through.  A Very Rosie Christmas does just that!  But for the musical advent calendar, I will only offer you one.  And it’s an unexpected cover that works far better than I’m sure anyone could have predicted.

The very thought of “Christmas Don’t Be Late” by Alvin & the Chipmunks causes many of us to, at minimum, cringe, and more likely, run screaming from the room.  Sure, there is an endearing quality to this song that brings people back to memories of Christmases gone by and simpler times.  But so does squeaky chalk on a blackboard.

Still, our Rosie bravely decided to cover “Christmas Don’t Be Late”, and the results are improbably endearing.  She slows it down, sings with passionate sincerity, and adds a couple of verses that completely transform how you’ve ever thought of this song.  It’s a new favorite for me, something I never thought I would be able to say about this song.

Enough talk!  Let’s open the doors on today’s musical advent calendar – Rosie Thomas’s “Christmas Don’t Be Late”.

~ by themattmorrisshow on December 11, 2013.

 
