Musical Advent Calendar 2013 – December 1

Welcome to the start of a new tradition at The Alternafolk, Surfsoul, Rock & Roll Revival Meeting (or simply The Meeting, if you prefer). It’s my first annual Musical Advent Calendar!  I loved opening up the window of the cardboard advent calendars my Mom bought for me and my siblings when we were kids, to see what the picture was going to be that day.  It was so simple, yet somehow magical.  For my kids, we use a cloth advent calendar that has pockets on each day up through Christmas.  Every morning, they reach in to that day’s pocket and pull out a surprise.  It’s always simple, but somehow magical for them.

Here at The Meeting, I am going to do something similarly simple, and I hope similarly magical.  Each day in December, leading up to Christmas, I will post a different Holiday song.  My hope is to include some of my old favorites, some new favorites, and some that will just add to the fun and festiveness of this new tradition.  Along the way, I will share a little about why I chose that day’s song and, if applicable, why it is special to me.  And I hope to hear from you as well, sharing what some of your favorite holiday songs and traditions are.

So let’s get started!

I wanted to pick something fun and festive to kick this thing off.  Just last year, a European jazz-funk band called Redtenbacher’s Funkestra released a holiday album.  While I personally found the whole of the album uneven and tedious, “Deck The Halls” delivered the goods and should be a staple of every Christmas party playlist.  And the video is a lot of fun, too.

So now, open up the imaginary doors this musical advent calendar, and enjoy your December 1st treat!

 

~ by themattmorrisshow on December 1, 2013.

3 Responses to “Musical Advent Calendar 2013 – December 1”

  1. How obscure, yet fun. Wherever do you find these songs?

  2. Great way to kick things off! So peppy …. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
