Rachel Zeffira’s “The Deserters”. I can’t move.

rachel-zeffira-121812-download

It’s 2am.  In one hour, Rob Thomas must be lonely.

I should be in bed. I’m getting up early for church tomorrow. In fact, I’m leading a small group at some point.  I will not be in very good shape for that. But this can’t wait!  I need to get this written while I’m still feeling the hypnotic buzz.

I’m listening to Rachel Zeffira’s album The Deserters. I don’t know anything about Rachel Zeffira. But I’m sure she is lovely, inside and out. I’m sure because her music is telling me so. At least I think it is. In truth, I don’t really know what any of these songs are exactly about.  I’m hearing something about somebody being worth waiting for, somebody else being a good friend,  Sylvia seems to be someone who Rachel is waiting for…but it’s all kind of vague.  Not necessarily because Zeffira isn’t a good song writer, but because the music and her voice are so lovely, I don’t really care what she is singing about.

The reason I am sacrificing self preserving sleep to write these comments in the middle of the night is that I don’t always feel this way while listening to The Deserters.  It’s mooooood music.  And the mood is right now.

Oh my God, every cut is so fantastically dreamy!  Even “Break the Spell”, a song that plays against character with an early 80’s Tangerine Dream-like movie soundtrack vibe, incorporates the harp in a way that keeps it in line with the rest of the album.  But let me be clear – this is not an album you are going to throw on to get things hopping at your next house party.  Or maybe even dinner party.  It is mellooowww.  And there have been plenty of times since I downloaded this album a couple of months back that I have tried to start it, only to quickly switch to something else.  In those moments, it just wasn’t working.

BUT…when the timing is right, when you are alone, when you just don’t know what to do with yourself, when it’s too late to make something happen but your soul is stirring too much to call it a night, when you are not quite low but a little short on joy, and you find that you’re the only one left awake – that is when this album will hit you.  Put on your headphones, lay your head back, press play and feel the peace of something bigger than yourself.  Because when the mood is right, that’s what this feels like.  And right now, I can’t move.  I don’t want to move.  Because if I move I might not feel this feeling again.  And I’m kind of afraid of that.  And THAT is the mood of The Deserters.   It’s a peaceful desperation.  It’s mysterious and comforting.

I need to go to bed.  But I’m just going to sit here a few more minutes…

~ by themattmorrisshow on May 19, 2013.

One Response to “Rachel Zeffira’s “The Deserters”. I can’t move.”

  1. […] 4.  Rachel Zeffira – The Deserters   I liked this album right away, but it has grown on me more and more throughout the year.  It’s moody and dreamy, with Zeffira’s voice sounding both haunting and comforting.   There is something hypnotic about this offering.  Maybe that’s why I kept coming back.  It’s okay, though.  I’m happy to be hypnotized.  I wrote more about the album here. […]

Leave a Reply

 
