My New Year’s Goal For The (alternafolk, surfsoul, rock&roll revival) Meeting

Happy New Year! I’m sitting in my living room, looking out our front window at our neighbor’s house across the street. Their Christmas lights are gently twinkling for one final night in this holiday season. They may be looking out their window as our lights do the same.

I’m glad they keep their lights up until New Year’s Day. We do the same thing. I’m not in a hurry to tear down Christmas and get on with the day-to-day business of rushing through life. I like taking it slow and letting the simple joys linger a little. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a proponent of house lights glowing deep into January. At some point it stops being about letting simple joys linger and starts being about laziness. But January 1st feels like a good day for closure. We say a final farewell to the holiday season that concludes our year, as we clear the pallet in preparation for the possibilities that a brand new year brings with it.

I’m not a big resolutions guy, though I appreciate the fresh start symbolism that the new year represents.  There’s no reason why we can’t make resolutions on June 1st, September 23rd, on our birthdays, or any other date, but the New Year brings with it an air of newness that lends itself to such proclamations.  It’s a convenient time to consider goals and changes.

So yes, my wife and I will effort to exercise more and eat healthier in 2013.  Not because it’s January 1st, but because we want (and need) to do this.  And on an individual note, I want to write more.  I enjoy this process, but don’t do it enough.  And my reasons are often not good ones.  I do have the time, I just haven’t developed the discipline.  So, in the month of January, I am going to try to post something everyday in “The Meeting” in an  attempt to develop a discipline of writing.  I say try, because I am extending grace to myself in case I miss a day.  Goals and resolutions shouldn’t be judged on absolute success completing them exactly as stated.  If I miss a day, it shouldn’t signal catastrophic failure that ends my quest to write more.  It should just be a missed day.

So, it’s now after 11pm, which means I should wrap this up in order to get something posted on January 1st (pacific standard time).  Besides, my neighbors just turned off their Christmas lights.  It’s time to get the year started!

~ by themattmorrisshow on January 1, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
