One Shining Moment

I just completed my 2012 NCAA college basketball championship tournament bracket.  I’ve been doing this since I was in high school, maybe even middle school.  I’ve also been participating in the same tournament pool for at least a couple of decades with a mix of some great old friends and some people I will likely never meet.  Sure, there are a few dollars at stake, but it’s mostly about bragging rights.  And, truth be told, there was a time when I was able to do some serious bragging about my prowess in picking unexpected upsets and tournament winners.

That time has long since passed.

As I was filling out my bracket, I had to laugh at how completely out of touch I have become with college basketball.  In my youth, I loved watching college basketball, largely because hoops were my sport-of choice while growing up.  But as life move on, priorities and responsibilities change and certain things get left by the wayside.  And while I still love sports, I found it necessary to narrow my field of view a little.  And so, somewhere along the way, I kind of dropped college hoops from my viewing repertoire.

Yet, come every March, I find myself fascinated by the presence of the opening weekend of “March Madness”, which I have long considered to be the most exciting weekend in sports.  And so I scramble to try and get a handle of who’s who in college basketball this year so I can fill out my bracket with at least an imaginary sense of knowing what I’m doing.

But I really don’t.

Instead, I stick mostly to “chalk” and through in a couple of random upsets just in case.  Do I really think Harvard will be Vanderbilt?  I don’t know, but wouldn’t it be cool if they did?  And is San Diego State really going to advance to sweet sixteen?  I don’t know, but I love San Diego!  Bring it on!

So why do I keep doing it?  I think it’s because of this – .

One Shining Moment is the ridiculously sappy, cliche filled song that plays at the very end of the tournament each year.  After the champion has been crowned and all of the nets have been cut down, CBS concludes it’s month-long coverage with an edited montage of great moments from the just completed tournament, culminating with highlights of the championship game you just witnessed.  This feat seemed much more magical when they started doing this 25 years ago, but it’s still affective today.  It was written, and originally performed, by someone named David Barrett.  Since then, Luther Vandross and Teddy Pendergrass versions have been more commonly used.  But regardless of who is singing, the song sounds old fashioned and out of place – and perfect.

So my bracket is completed and I have no confidence that any of my picks are going to pan out (I have Kentucky over Ohio State in the finals, for the record).  And you can be sure that, if I somehow win my pool, I will let everyone know how awesome I am, taking full advantage of my bragging rights.  But whether I win or (more likely) lose, it will be okay.  Because once a champion is crowned, David Barret’s song will blissfully journey me into three and a half minutes of college basketball glory.  It will all be worth it, for one shining moment.

Here is last year’s version of One Shining Moment:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=moyIYzV24XI

~ by themattmorrisshow on March 15, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
