THIS…is (why I like) American Idol!

Welcome to The Meeting. I’m glad you’re here. There is something important I need to talk about. I knew I would need to deal with it eventually. It’s not like I’ve been purposefully keeping it from you. It’s just that, since launching this blog last October, it hasn’t come up. But the time has come to deal with it. You see, the thing is…

I really like American Idol. A lot. A lot, lot.

And you know what else? I’m not embarrassed about it, either! I like that I like American Idol a lot, lot. I find the show to be both entertaining and compelling. I enjoy hearing the emotional contestant back stories and how that creates extra drama during the weekly competitions. I get bent and take it personally when one of my favorites gets voted off too early. I get frustrated when the judges hype up the wrong performance. In fact, I believe quite certainly that I would do a better job of judging than the actual judges on the show. But I still love it!

I get that there is a degree of exploitation taking place with the contestants. And I am certain that the producers make some kind of effort to manipulate the weekly vote by requiring judges to gush over a less deserving contestant if keeping that contestant around would be good for ratings.  And those things frustrate me. But I still love it!

Ironically, I have never purchased an album by any contestant on American Idol, let alone the winners (though I have downloaded a few singles here and there).  Most of the songs covered by contestants on the show are not songs I would typically listen to.  And rarely do I feel like the most talented contestant ends up winning.  But I still love it!

I haven’t gotten into The Voice, America’s Got Talent, X Factor, So You Think You Can Dance, or any other musical performance type of competition show.  Just American Idol.  And, while I will grant that he is good at what he does, I frankly find Ryan Seacrest to be both wee and annoying.  But I still love it!

It’s almost something I can’t explain, much like the appeal of music itself.  I am fascinated by the way the show can take a complete unknown (with no direction home) and make them a known and somewhat relevant quantity.  And it all revolves around music!

I get why people don’t like the show.  I’ve mentioned many of the reasons above.  And alongside my confession of love for the show comes a confession of concern that they need to correct some ego driven voting changes that threaten to ruin the show (I’ll likely get into that more in a later post).  I also recognize that the majority of Idol winners are currently irrelevant in the music industry.  But despite all of that, I am still excitedly drawn to this glorified talent show.  I still feel the anticipation of wondering which songs the contestants are going to choose each week, trying to predict whether or not it was a good choice for them.  And I love the feeling of growing attached to contestants through the course of a season, even though I know I will likely not be supporting their career by purchasing an album.  But it’s fun.  And it’s easy.  And it allows me to be tongue in cheek and act silly and be “serious” about something completely not serious and just have fun with the whole thing.

So, don’t be surprised in a couple of weeks when I start critiquing performances during the live elimination rounds.  And please, feel free to offer your own opinions.  That’s a big part of why I do it.  Oh, sure, I have just enough ego to believe that my voice should be heard on this all important matter, but I also enjoy hearing what others think.

And if you don’t watch American Idol, it’s okay to start now.  Don’t be shy, proud, or too cool.  That’s no way to live.

Thanks for coming to The Meeting.  It feels good to get that off my chest.  Now, if you’ll excuse me, I think I just accidentally stepped on Ryan Seacrest.

~ by themattmorrisshow on January 31, 2012.

One Response to “THIS…is (why I like) American Idol!”

  1. I love it too! And I love that it’s something our whole family looks forward to watching together. That in itself makes it valuable.

Leave a Reply

 
