Five Songs – December 2, 2011

Welcome to The Meeting.  Glad you could stop by.  Here are Five songs I’ve been geeking on lately, in no particular order.  Let me know what you think:

1. “House” by Ben Folds Five

Classic Folds. I just heard this for the first time recently. It’s a new track from his recent career retrospective Best Imitation of Myself.  Lilting piano melodies that segue into soaring hook-layden choruses. Slight bitterness and whimsy in the lyrics. Like I said, classic Folds.  And I do like classic Folds.

2. “Stay Young, Go Dancing” by Death Cab For Cutie

This one actually drew me back to their new album. KFOG has been playing this cut and I love it. It’s a sweet and almost lullabye-ish waltz. And I love that the song title, which is perfect, creates the exact sentiment in my mind that I hear in the music.  Great way to close out the Codes and Keys album.

3. “Lay Myself Down” by Mazzy Star

Welcome back Mazzy Star. This is perfect back deck chill music. Absolutely simple, absolutely endearing.  More alt-country than alt-rock, it reminds me some of what would happen if Cowboy Junkies collaborated with The Sundays.

4.  “Money” by The Drums

This reminds me of something I would have loved back around 1983.  You will always win me with that formula.  Quirky and surf-poppy, with the brilliantly simple lyrical hook – “I want to buy you something, but I don’t have any money”.  actually, that kind of feels like 1983, too.

5.  “It Will Rain” by Bruno Mars

This is from the soundtrack of the latest Twilight movie, a detail I’m trying to ignore.  But I loves me some Bruno Mars.  I believe this guy is incredibly talented and glides seamlessly from genre to genre, glazing all that he does with delightfully shiny pop veneer.  He’s just good.

~ by themattmorrisshow on December 2, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
