Do You Want Your Mylo Xyloto in a Waffle Cone?

The new Coldplay album sounds sometimes like a sonic paradox. In the same moment it lifts me up with its symphonic, lush anthems, it forces me to question my confidence in that which I find beautiful. Such is the lyrical and musical nature of Chris Martin and company. It’s just not enough to be happy for these guys.

But that’s always Coldplay.  And it’s part of what makes Coldplay’s tunes so interesting. They always tend to reside on a razor-thin line between euphoric joy and devastating heartbreak. And not much has changed on Mylo Xyloto. This is a satisfying listen. It actually took me a while to warm up to Mylo Xyloto. Probably because that is a stupid name. Well, that and I just wasn’t sure how I felt about the album.. Did I love it? Did I loathe it? Is it just kind of nice to have on while I’m paying the bills? And how many times will I misspell that stupid album title?

I actually think I love it. Maybe. I’m not sure. But I know I love “Every Teardrop is a Waterfall”, which is one of the best songs ever about seeking refuge from the world through a pair of headphones and great record (they might as well have called it “A Song Written Expressly to Appeal to Matt Morris”). The second single, “Paradise”, is a strong anthem. On “Charlie Brown”, I’m pretty sure I hear Snoopy in the background, which works for me. It’s a great song regardless.

I love the quieter moments, as with “U.F.O.”, “Up In Flames”, and especially “Us Against the World” (an album favorite for me). Of course, as is expected in the paradoxical Coldplay universe, even the “quiet” moments seem to soar up through the clouds. Which I love. I think. Maybe.

I’m still not sure about the Rihanna featured song “Princess of China”. I like Rihanna. And I like a lot of things about China. I actually think I don’t like Coldplay in this song, which is a problem since it’s their song. The Rihanna parts sound great. But what do I know?  I’m still stuck on Mylo Xyloto (which should really be a flavor at Baskin Robbins).

Here is my whole Coldplay thing – I want really bad to LOVE Coldplay. But I never quite have. I’ve really liked them a lot. I want to hang out with them, I just want someone else to be there too. And, ultimately, maybe that describes how I feel about Mylo Xyloto. The album, not the name. I hate the name. But I really like the album. A lot. I just want to have another album ready to go when it’s done. I can’t end the night on Mylo Xyloto (I have typed “Mylo Xyloto” a lot. I’m getting good at spelling it. Still stupid, though). But it’s a really good album! Seriously! Likely in my top ten this year. Or not. We’ll see.

And as I finish these thoughts, I am treated to sounds of “Up With the Birds” in my headphones, the track that closes the album. It’s delightful. And it reminds me that, despite my confusion about Coldplay, I know I can count on them. They are reliably solid. Every album they’ve done works. They don’t produce duds. That’s a good place to be. And Mylo Xyloto ultimately succeeds for that reason. It’s a good place to be. Even if the name is stupid.

~ by themattmorrisshow on November 18, 2011.

3 Responses to “Do You Want Your Mylo Xyloto in a Waffle Cone?”

  1. I am so glad you finaly have a music blog. It’s about time Matt! You have a wonderful way with words when it comes to reviewing music. I thoroughly enjoyed your thoughts on one of my favorite bands : )

  2. By the way…in my opinion, Us Against the World is the best song on the album. It is intoxicating when cranked.

  3. I’m going to have to crank it tomorrow and find out, Amy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
